Originally a vegetarian dish cooked by Taoists and Buddhists, it is mainly composed of three mushrooms, sixty-two, fruits and vegetables and bean products, so it is also called "temple dish" and "vegetarian dish". Vegetarian dishes in Hainan mainly come from Haikou and Qiongshan areas in northern Hainan. In addition to the needs of religious activities, the traditional custom is that every household should eat "fast food" on New Year's Day. Followed by the ninth day of January, it is also a common "worship of god" fasting.
The biggest feature of vegetarianism is that it does not use animal raw materials. Even some vegetable raw materials, such as garlic, celery and pickles, are banned. In recent years, vegetarian dishes have entered the food market and are well received by consumers because of their health-preserving efficacy and unique taste.